Amelia Earhart’s letter to fiancé George Putnam, 1931

Posted on Dec 23, 2018

My favorite two paragraphs from Michael Beschloss on Twitter: “Amelia Earhart’s highly unsentimental prenuptial letter to fiance George Putnam, 1931”:

On our life together I want you to understand I shall not hold you to any midaevil code of faithfulness to me nor shall I consider myself bound to you similarly. If we can be honest I think the difficulties which arise may best be avoided should you or I become interested deeply (or in passing) in anyone else.

Please let us not interfere with the others’ work or play, nor let the world see our private joys or disagreements. In this connection I may have to keep some place where I can go to be myself, now and then, for I cannot guarantee to endure at all times the confinements of even an attractive cage.