Ben Norris on owning your content

Posted on Jan 30, 2019

From @bennorris on the January 28 Micro Monday:

I just resonate so much with the mission that Manton has, and his belief of the importance of owning our content, and being, in some ways, good stewards of ourselves and our thoughts and our creative output. Don’t give it to someone, don’t turn it over. Own it and keep it and make it available to share on your own terms.

I was in the car when I heard this part and I remember saying out loud, to no one, “Man!” This gets to the heart of the whole IndieWeb purpose and it’s become more tangible to me since I joined Micro.blog. The experience of owning the content here is sprawling to other ways I can own, refactor, and share more stuff that I used to keep to myself or surrender to others.