Wikis are like the Rush of social media

Posted on Feb 17, 2019

Listening to “Red Barchetta” by Rush this morning (for the 50,000th time), I started to realize all the ways that wikis are like Rush:

Normal people see/hear them and think:

  • I’ve heard of them but don’t really know them
  • Too much work
  • Too ornate
  • Incomprehensible
  • Ugly
  • Don’t they have something to do with Middle Earth?

Nerds who get them know:

  • Finally, a home
  • This is the way I think
  • I don’t care that no-one else likes it. In fact, that’s part of the appeal.
  • I have room to stretch out and think here
  • There’s always something to learn
  • All the choices are up to me
  • I could get a lot more people into it if they didn’t mind me droning on about it
  • They reward repeated, sustained attention
  • The effort put into the finished product will never be appreciated by most of the world, which is totally fine
  • A complete thought can easily take 7½–13 minutes to get across