Putting your house in order

Posted on Jun 26, 2019

The other night, I glanced at this very blog for the first time in a while, as a visitor would, scrolling through all the random things I’d posted in the last few weeks. I realized that I rather like how it looks and I don’t use it enough compared to the wiki. I bury too many things in the wiki, where I know I can find them later, but where they’re unlikely to help others or be found by more than a handful of very friendly people. The wiki will stay, but I’m going to write in the hosted Micro.blog more, and this makes me think of using and organizing what we have, and getting rid of the things we don’t. Sarah and I checked out The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning from the library and I’m a few pages in. There’s this quote from Leonard Cohen in it:

At a certain point, if you still have your marbles and are not faced with serious financial challenges, you have a chance to put your house in order. It’s a cliché, but it’s underestimated as an analgesic on all levels. Putting your house in order, if you can do it, is one of the most comforting activities, and the benefits of it are incalculable.