Serverless

Posted on Nov 7, 2019

Every time I turn around there’s someone talking about how “serverless” is the new hotness. I know it’s not even all that new now; it’s just that I’m only getting around to learning what it is. I get the practically infinite scalability of it, the mind-boggling dependencies that come with it, and for sure the no-brainer aspect of how it saves money by only charging for the CPU time you use. But I don’t know if I’ll ever grasp the utterly foreign architecture and the strange-looking code that it runs on. I saw some sample AWS code in a video yesterday and it was the weirdest, most obscure looking stuff.

All that aside, seeing how some businesses are able to hook API-less apps together with it (or at least how they claim to when showing off their AI-fueled “solutions”) makes me think that I’m rubbing sticks together to make fire with my puny home media server running on a Raspberry Pi. And that I’m just an old man yelling at clouds when I lob more and more stuff into locally-stored plain text org-mode files instead of using more modern web-based apps and services.

Not that I’m going to quit messing with the Raspberry Pi or org-mode…